Kolkata port trust renamed as Shyama prasad mukherjee trust

[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="640"] Image source | Google[/caption]

The central government on Wednesday approved renaming Kolkata Port Trust to Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Trust. The proposal was approved in a cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. On 12 January 2020, the Prime Minister announced the renaming of the Kolkata port in the name of Jana Sangh founder Shyama Prasad Mukherjee on the occasion of the inauguration ceremony of the 150th birth anniversary of Kolkata Port.

According to the information received by the government, the Board of Trustees of Kolkata Port Trust passed a resolution in its meeting on 25 February 2020 in view of Shyama Prasad Mukherjee, a jurist, teacher, thinker and leader of the general public as a multi-faceted genius. It was approved to rename Kolkata port as Shyama Prasad Mukherjee.

Kolkata Port is the first port in the country along the river, being a major port. As per Act-5 of 1870, it was governed by a Trust on 17 October 1870 on the appointment of Commissioners for the improvement of the Port of Calcutta. Kolkata port has completed 150 years of its voyage. It is India's main gate for trade, commerce and economic development. It has also been a witness to India's struggle for independence, the First and Second World Wars and the socio-economic changes taking place in the country, especially in eastern India.

Generally, the major ports in India are named after the city or the town where they are located. However, in special cases or as a tribute to the contribution of well-known leaders, some ports were renamed after great national leaders. Nhawa Sheva Port was renamed Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust in 1988 by the government.

Tuticorin Port Nyasat was renamed VO Chidambaranar Port Nyasat in 2011 and Ennore Port Limited was renamed Kamarajar Port Limited in honor of Kamarajar, a noted freedom fighter and former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. Recently in 2017, Kandla port was renamed Deendayal Port. Apart from this, many airports have also been named after great leaders of India.