Elections on 9 seats of Bihar Legislative Council on 6 July

[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="737"] Election commission of India[/caption]

Elections of nine seats of Bihar Legislative Council will now be held on July 6. Elections to these seats were postponed in view of Corona, according to the statement issued by the Election Commission, the term of nine members of the Bihar Legislative Council expired on 6 May, the Commission announced the postponement of the election on 3 April.

The statement said that election notification will be issued on 18 June and elections will be held on 6 July. According to the rules set after the end of the election, the counting of votes will take place on the evening of 6 July.

Members of the Bihar Legislative Assembly will elect nine new legislators. Legislative council members are generally elected by four types of voters - MLAs, graduates, teachers and members of local authorities.