Congress claims to form government in Manipur

[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="444"] Okram ibobi singh (file photo)[/caption]

A day after the nine MLAs resigned from the BJP-led coalition government of Chief Minister N Biren Singh, the Congress on Thursday laid claim to form the government in Manipur.

Senior Congress leader and former Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh met Governor Najma Heptulla and demanded a special session of the Manipur Legislative Assembly to vote on the no-confidence motion against the Biren Singh government.

Ibobi Singh also handed over the letter of support of TMC, NCP and Independent MLAs to the Governor. These parties have formed a new alliance in the name of Secular Progressive Front (SPF).

Meanwhile, the Congress has given notice to remove Assembly Speaker Y Khemchand. Congress MLA K Meghchandra gave notice to the Secretary of the Manipur Legislative Assembly under Article 179 (c) of the Constitution.

Under this article, the Speaker or the Deputy Speaker can be removed from his post by passing a resolution by a majority of the then members of the Legislative Assembly.

Meghchandra appealed for the acceptance of the notice, claiming the support of ten members, including former National People's Party (NPP) Deputy Chief Minister Y Joykumar.

He said that the next date was fixed June 22 for the proceedings related to disqualification of seven Congress MLAs. Meghchandra alleged that while in a statement released on social media at 11 am on Wednesday, it was reduced to June 18 without any valid reason or explanation. He alleged, the Speaker has' behaved in a totalitarian manner which is against the established traditions and procedures of the House.